Log in



The Society of Rural Physicians of Canada has developed awards to highlight the outstanding achievements of our dedicated and passionate members.

Each year, we recognize and celebrate individuals and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to support, sustain and advocate for rural healthcare in Canada.

The Awards Ceremony is hosted during the annual Rural and Remote Medicine Course. Our distinguished guests are invited to the Awards dinner, where their achievements are acknowledged and honoured by their peers, colleagues, friends and family.

Our prestigious rural awards are bestowed upon SRPC Members, except for The Keith Award, The Rural Education Award, and The Rural Health Champion Award, which may be presented to Non-Members.

To verify membership status, please contact  Jenna

Deadlines for nominations

January 31st each year for:

  • Medical Student / Medical Resident Leadership Award, Rural Leadership Award, Rural Specialist Merit Award, Rural Heart Award, Rural Mentorship Award, Rural Health Champion Award, and Rural Community Impact Award

March 1st each year for:

  • Rural Service Award, Rural Long Service Award, Fellowship of Rural Remote Medicine of the SRPC, Lifetime Member Award, The KEITH Award and the Rural Medical Education Award

About the Nominations & Awards committee

The committee feels it is vital to recognize persons or organizations that have made a significant contribution for their roles in rural/remote medicine. The committee also develops criteria for new awards that are recommended to the SRPC by its members.

In 2019 the committee implemented two new awards. The first being the Rural Heart Award (RHA) for and the second is the Rural Specialist Merit Award (RSMA) 

And in 2020, three additional awards were established to recognize deserving individuals. The added awards are the Rural Mentorship Award, the Rural Health Champion Award and the Rural Community Impact Award. 

Join the committee, and help develop new awards for 2025. Members that would like to be a part of the Nominations and Awards committee should email the SRPC to indicate interest