

Nominations and Awards Report

Spring Council April 2023

Membership: Trina Larsen Soles (Chair), Dorothy Bakker, David Beach, Merilee Brown, Alan Garbutt, Sabrina Slade, John Soles, Margo Wilson, Gabe Woollam.

Staff support Jenna Keindel - Emma Hennessey and Victoria Rust are new student members who just joined the committee.

The committee met on January 24 and March 13, 2023. Between these meetings various tasks were completed by email. We proposed a number of candidates for vacant positions on Committees, Council and Exec. We have a full slate of recipients for the SRPC Awards.

For the upcoming year we plan to review the terms of reference of the various committees as well as developing an inventory of roles and responsibilities of the positions on Council and Exec. We believe this will help with recruiting suitable individuals to lead the SRPC going forward. We have been asked to consider new awards, in particular an award for rural research. We are also considering how best to encourage nominations of our members for non- SRPC awards for which they qualify. CMA awards and the Order of Canada have been suggestions from members. We have also started discussions with Canadian Medical Foundation (CMF) to accept donations and or legacy funds for other sponsorships.

Nominations 2023

Exec - President Elect – Dr. Gavin Parker - Pincher Creek, AB

Exec - Member at large – Dr. Emmanuel Abara - Richmond Hill, ON

Exec - Secretary – Dr. Stacy Desilets - New Liskeard, ON

Nominations & Awards – Dr. Trina Larsen Soles (1 year only) - Golden, BC

Specialist – Dr. Ruban Kanagaratnam – Swift Current, SK

Emergency – Dr. Sean Moore - Keewatin, ON.

Alberta – Dr. Rithesh Ram – Drumheller, AB

Northwest Territories - Dr. Kyle Sue - Edmonton, AB

Yukon – Dr. Lindsey Campbell - Watson Lake, YT

Outstanding Vacancies

Exec: Treasurer

Provincial and Territorial Representatives:
Nova Scotia
Nunavut
PEI
Quebec

Standing Committee Representatives:



Anaesthesia Indigenous Health Rural and Remote (2) Award Recipients

Rural Health Champion- Kim Williams
Rual Community impact - Dr. Elise Orrantia
Rural Leadership - Dr. Trina Larsen Soles
Rural Specialist- Dr. Robin Routledge
Rural Heart - Dr. Emmanuel Abara
Rural Mentorship - Dr. David Pontin
Student Leadership- Simona Bene Watts and Allison Best
Resident Leadership - Dr. Andrea Brabent and Dr. Natalya O'Reilly.

Rural Service Awards: Dr Roderick Cheung, Dr. Coralie Boudrea, Dr. Katherine Turner, Dr. Bruce Cook, Dr Amanda Bergman, Dr Norma Charriere, Dr. Roohina Virk, Dr. Martin Papineau, Dr. Robert Nugent, Dr. Lyn Power, Dr. Robert Greidanu, Dr. Amber Hayward-Stewart, Dr. Andreas Moestert

Rural Long Service Awards: Dr. Mark Saul, Dr. Shaun Marshall, Dr. H. Susan McArthur, Dr. Dave McLinden

Rural Fellowship: Dr. Katie Forfar, Dr. Sarah Lesperance, Dr. Samantha Harper, Dr. Ryan Falk, Dr. Mark Saul

Lifetime Membership: Dr. Yvon Gangnon, Dr. Karen Forgie, Dr. Robert Nugent, Dr. James Goertzen

Keith Award- Memorial University of Newfoundland

Rural Education Award-Memorial University of Newfoundland

We feel the strong showing for awards in particular increases membership engagement by recognizing the tremendous work being done across Canada. It also showcases rural communities. Better defining the work of our committees should help with recruitment and leadership development now and in the future for the SRPC.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Trina Larsen Soles Chair